Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today was Day 2 of the running program (it’s actually more like day 6, but I’m not following the program exactly–as I’ve started one week past the schedule). Once again, I hate to say it, but it bears repeating: I loathe the treadmill. Crazy props to the folks that can get a solid run in on the treadmill and feel good during it; I just can’t.

I know some people say they don’t even like running while they are running, but I can’t say that’s the case for me if I’m running somewhere. My mind is working overtime when I’m outside. I think about the people in front of me and whether they’re going to slow their pace down so they can taste my dust as I run by (did I ever mention that I can be competitive?). They never really slow down as often as I’d like them, too. Instead, I tell myself that I run longer distances, so I pace myself versus their fast paced ten minute jog (even if I’ve been tailing them for like 15, wutev).

Well, today I went to my first running store. You know the kind, the specialized store made specifically for running shoes. I found a handful of them in the area, so I went in and I really liked it. I tried on the New Balance WR00 and MR00. I could only find the trail versions in the store, so I was thrilled to try them here. Unfortunately, they were a little pricier in the store than online, so I decided I might buy them online. I also tried the Brooks PureFlow. They didn’t have my size, but I got the general feel.

I really liked the way the minimus felt on my feet. I enjoyed the fact that they did feel much like slippers. I could tell that I’d enjoy running in them. Maybe it’s snooty, but I like the idea of feeling closer to the ground than in my regular shoes. So, I went home and found them on SwimOutlet.com

I purchased these bad boys for 70$ (40$ cheaper than in stores) and then went on my merry day. I did the dreaded treadmill. I tried to picture the road instead and, while it worked, I still felt like I preferred the road. On top of that, around 15 minutes, I felt a tightness in my lower calf. Right above my ankle, I felt this sharp tugging. “Don’t be a baby, just keep it up,” which, Steven mentioned later, is pretty much the mentality that injured my shins to begin with (the ‘dont be a baby’ mentality).

I stretched after and I still felt a sharp pain with each step. I applied a warm sports pack to both and kept them elevated. I feel much better now and tomorrow is my off day, so I should be fine by Wednesday.

So, as dessert was baking (cherry cheesecake fudge brownie!), I started to read up on heel strike versus forefoot versus midfoot strikes. I can’t believe I never researched it that way before. I typically just research midfoot and forefoot benefits but never a comparison.

Research shows that trying to change your natural gait can cause more injuries than just heel striking. I can’t say I’m a heel striker in my Asics (what I’ve run in for the past X months). I’m not sure what I am, but regardless, I decided to quit while I’m ahead.

I’ve run in my Asics (injury free) since July. When I did hurt my shins, it was due to the excessive increase in mileage. Maybe I was quick to blame the shoes, because how could I have screwed myself up yet again (something similar happened in August when I could hardly walk due to running nearly every day without taking rest days–I am a genius, I know).

So, there you have it. I am going to return the Gravities tomorrow and resume running (at my schedule) in my trusty Asics. As a reward, when I run a 10k, I will get a new pair of shoes. Whether I decide to try a pair of Brooks or continue in Asics, I will decide at that point.

So, what happened with my shoes from SwimOutlet.com? Let me tell you! I called them up to cancel the order I had placed hours ago and the robot picks up and tells me that their menu options have changed. Moments later, I’m told that I have just won a Bahamas Cruise! No way!

I press zero to get an operator, because I’m really not interested in a cruise. I finally get through to a representative who gives me her name and asks mine.

Me: I’m Carmen, how are you?
Her: I’m good, thanks.
Me: I placed an order several hours ago and I just wanted to cancel it.
Her: Oh, okay. Well, you just won a free cruise to the Bahamas.
Me: I’m really not interested. Thank you, though.
Her: Oh..well, have you ever been on a cruise?
Me: No, I haven’t. I’m really only calling to cancel an order. I don’t want to go to the Bahamas or anything. Could I just cancel my order?
Her: Well, you’re going to have to call back, because our lines are very busy.
Me: ….what number am I supposed to call back? Do I not have the right number (LIKE WTF R U DOING RIGHT NOW? <—what I wanted to say)
Her: This number but at a later time

And with that, she hung up.

I was furious! And confused! And what!

Of course, I called right back and got through to a regular person and canceled my order, but I couldn’t let Bahamas Lady go. So I asked the representative about the Bahamas call and he says (calmly, mind you), “Yes, we were very backed up with phone calls.” …..oh, so you just give away Bahamas trips?

What?

Bizarre.

