Tags

, , ,

Can we learn anything from children’s books?

I’m going to go ahead and say we can learn something from most things (even the ones that leave you scratching your head).

One particular book really made my day these past few days.

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane.

Edward is a toy rabbit made of china. He is an arrogant, snooty little rabbit with a penchant for fine clothing and is incredibly selfish, but doesn’t think so (yeah, I’d like to point a finger at someone but will refrain).

Edward belongs to a seven year old girl, but he doesn’t really love her. He’s just sort of going through the motions of being her rabbit.

That is, until, one day he comes to an unfortunate fork in his road.

This leads him to new and unexpected places. I won’t go into where he goes, who he meets, but I will say that for a children’s book, it’s eye-opening. I think I like it, because it’s metaphor after metaphor of big moments in our lives.

Well, that’s if you’re aware enough to see/feel them.

I like the way it’s written for several reasons.

1. Edward is just like we can be. Some of us start off unnecessarily cold and then go through similar things that this toy rabbit does. It’s bizarre, but it’s endearing.
2. I like that it’s full of love. It’s not gooey and fake; it’s in-your-face and bold. When things happen, they happen.
3. I fell asleep each night comfortably. I don’t have too much trouble sleeping (except for some nights, I suppose–you think about useless things), but this book was great. I would read until my eyes were heavy and then I was out. It was such an interesting read, but it was tranquil, too. I’ll probably read it again.

Maybe I like it, because it’s not your run-of-the-mill predictable book. I think it’s more than that, though. I like it, because it makes you think.

Here’s the link to the PDF.

