Tags

, , , , , ,

Who doesn’t like Taquitos?

Back in the day, if it was frozen, I’d heat it up, and eat it.

I can’t tell you why I’ve stopped eating frozen food or junk food, except that most of the time, I feel sluggish. Whenever I eat out (literally, any time I do), I feel sluggish for the rest of the day. It’s not that I feel fat, it’s not that I feel guilty—I feel tired. I don’t eat more than one serving (I’m the first person to bring home leftovers and actually eat them the next day), but I never feel great.

Whenever I cook, I always feel great. I’m sure the reason is somewhere between no preservatives and my labor of love.

One of my best friends is Pinterest. I finally hopped on the bandwagon this year, and it’s one of my favorite pastimes. From picking out my perfect home to crafts for friends to cooking, this is the best site ever (well, it’s tied with Last.fm for obvious reasons).

So, I found a recipe for Buffalo Chicken Taquitos, but (as usual), I decided to tweak it.

I love the spicy mayo sauce they make for sushi, and my friend Stef recently showed me a recipe for it (via Pinterest!). I decided, hey, why not try that instead?

Why not, indeed.

Ingredients:

4 ounces fat free cream cheese, softened
2-3 tablespoons of light mayo with olive oil (you could use any variation, though)
eyeball some srirachea
1 cup any cheese (I had Mexican on hand)
1 can (12.5 ounce) Swanson Premium Chunk Chicken Breast in water, drained
8 8-inch flour tortillas

Directions:

  1. Preheat the over to 350
  2. In a bowl, mix cream cheese, cheese, chicken, and mayo.
  3. Add sriracha as you’d like. For instance, if you prefer spicier, then add more. Taste it as you go along, because it might be too spicy. I managed to make mine exactly as spicy as I liked it (aka: not terribly spicy)
  4. Place 2-3 tablespoons of the mixture in the center of a tortilla, roll it up.
  5. Place in baking pan.
  6. Continue. I had about nine.
  7. Bake for 17 minutes.

Ta-da!

IMG_0387

I’m taking two to work for lunch this week, but these seem like an easy snack when you get done work or just an anytime snack.

In case you wanted the original:
http://www.tasteandtellblog.com/baked-buffalo-chicken-taquitos/

