Tags

, , , , , ,

Long time no see!

Rest assured, I’ve been doing the fix every day, except for three weekends, due to friends and family visiting. An excuse? Absolutely, but there it is!

As I said previously, I’ve been doing the 10lbs dumbbells, but it got boring. I didn’t feel like I was getting a real workout anymore. It was only challenging due to the heavier weight, but I was bored.

We went back home to Jersey last week and I decided to do a different workout guide. Two years ago, I started doing the Kayla Itsines workouts. They were intense, and I don’t think I got past week 5 or 7. I don’t remember. I remember feeling sore every week, though.

Last Wednesday, I did day 1.

Yo.

21 Day Fix has nothing on Kayla. If you’re torn between which workout to do first, you should absolutely do the fix to prepare you for this beast.

My butt was on fire. ON FIRE. Here I thought that I had been gaining muscle, getting stronger, you know–the usual. While I definitely was, I felt like Kayla kicked my entire body at once.

Because I knew that I wouldn’t have a lot of time, I actually did the next day’s workout on Thursday (Arms and Abs). That wasn’t too difficult, but after that… I hate to say that I didn’t do anything else. Again, in my defense, I didn’t have a lot of time. Kayla’s workouts require you to wash your hair Every Single Day. I just didn’t have time to let my hair air dry every day. We were hanging out with family and friends, and really it was a vacation. Excuses, excuses, excuses–I know.

SO!

We got back home on Tuesday evening. I’ll have to write a whole entry on our two plane trips from PHL to SFO, because they’re pretty ridiculous.

Wednesday I decided that I wasn’t going to fart around anymore. I was going to do Kayla’s workouts all the way through week 12. I did day one, and let me tell you, HOLY SMOKES! I dripped sweat. I only ever REALLY dripped sweat on Autumn’s Leg Day. The rest of the fix was kinda ehhhh light sweat*

Upset that he was going to get fat, Kevin decided to force me back into morning workouts. So, Thursday morning, we got up at 6am, and I hustled him out of bed to do day 2. This was arms and abs. My abs are okay, but my upper body strength is still nowhere near where I want it. I’m trying to do pushups correctly, and they are much harder than your typical push up. MEH.

Today we woke up at 6:10 and did Total Body, which is day 3.

The way the program is set up is like so: Monday is leg and cardio, Wednesday is Arm and Ab, and (right now) Friday is optional as Total Body. In between these you should do LISS or HIIT workouts. So, walking for 30-45 minutes at a steady pace or sprinting 30:30. I’m not big on sprinting (lol), so I’ll probably just walk Mogli (which I do almost every day for 30 minutes anyway). Maybe we’ll run up the hill to our house for an extra little kick.

The reason I did the circuits (day 1, 2, and 3) in order is because I really just wanted week one to be over. I just didn’t want my excuse to be “Well, I have to wait until Monday to start.” I really hate when people say “I’ll start tomorrow.”

That’s a lie! Unless it’s 8pm today, you really could start today. There’s no excuse. If you JUST did your hair and makeup, fine. FINE. I get it. But if you’re just being lazy, that’s being lazy and you should own that.

So, I owned it, and I decided to start Wednesday.

Tomorrow, I’m actually going to do some yoga, because I feel like I need to stretch. On Sunday, I’ll do pilates and maybe a very short run.

Then on Monday I’ll start week two.

My thoughts so far?

Pros:

  • I get to listen to my own playlists. I like that I have workout playlists. When I did the fix, I watched the videos over and over that I eventually memorized all of the words  and I started to resent some of it. I actually couldn’t stand Cat by the end of my stint with the fix.
  • I get to challenge myself. I can write down how many times I cycle through the exercises. While the fix promotes counting your reps, it’s not something I felt compelled to do.
  • It seems to go by quicker than the fix, which is nice. I know they’re actually the same length, and if I’m warming up, Kayla is longer, but it feels shorter.
  • I like that it’s not every day. Again, going for a 30 minute walk is already part of my everyday, so if that counts as my LISS on Tuesday and Thursday, YNRWg
  • I actually feel like I’m working out. The Fix kind of became more of a dance. I definitely still did it, but I just got bored. It wasn’t challenging. This is in no way reflective of the fix, but just my attention span on something I’ve done for three months without pause.

Cons:

  • While it’s also a pro, I don’t like that I don’t exercise every day. I’m still going to, but it’s not really a part of the program.
  • There’s a lot of reading involved up front. I like to read, but I’m not crazy about how-to’s.
  • It’s twelve weeks, and I know that it gets increasingly difficult.
  • I previewed week two and I don’t love jump lunges. I just hate them.

 

So, side note in regards to food. Having friends visit, having visited home, you can imagine my nutrition suffered a bit. We had sushi several times, and I love my sushi, but the only healthy roll we get is the rainbow roll. So it’s kinda healthy, right?Not-Sure-How-To-Feel-About-This-Castiel-In-Supernatural

Then of course we had pizza, ice cream, cake and Chinese food, because why not?

tumblr_inline_ogvp24Pl451u2s4s8_500

Needless to say, I’m back on a cleaner diet. I think at the end of the day, especially when I am sore and sweating every day, I’m not inclined to have a scoop of ice cream. Everything in moderation, but I’m working on less processed foods.

I’ll update this at least once a week with info on my doings.

*Disclaimer: I am not at all a sweaty person, so this says more about me than the programs. The Fix was incredible, and I’m really glad that I have it, that I’ve done it, and I will absolutely return to that someday. I think it’s good to have variety, which is the only reason I switched to Kayla. Also, ’cause I wanna get ripped.

jk but not really.

Guns 2017.

ps: I’m finally caught up on Supernatural. 🙂

