People, let’s just get one thing straight: being lazy or unwilling to learn is not a good quality. In fact, it is right up their with just being a plain old douchebag.

If you are a human being, then you are capable of learning.

“Wah, but I’m not good at X!!!”

Totally fine. 100% fine. I’m not good at a ton of things! I didn’t start good at anything, actually. I learned. I taught myself how to do things! I took the advice of every single english teacher I’ve ever had. And truthfully, I’m still mostly ad-hoc-ing my entire life. Everything is a work in progress.

God bless the person who makes it their duty to teach me something. If someone is taking time out of their day to show you how to do something, be respectful and pay attention. Replicate it. Never ask for help on the same thing again.

Why wouldn’t you want to be competent at something?

So maybe you don’t care. “If I need something, I’ll just ask someone who knows how to do it to do it.”

Fine.

But here’s the thing: one day you’re going to get what you asked for, and that’s it. You won’t get all the bells and whistles you could have gotten had you taken the time to learn it and customize it. You won’t wow your boss. “Hey, is it possible to…?” you’ll ask.

“No, sorry.” And maybe the person on the other end is telling the truth, but maybe they’re not. The worst part is that you’ll never know, because you never took the time to learn anything new.

Too bad, so sad.

